Psychological Health Stabilization / Resilience II

***

Development of an online-based intervention for alleviating loneliness in older adults

The aim of this project is to develop an internet-based psychological self-help program for alleviating loneliness in older adults. A particular focus is on adapting the intervention to the needs and resources of older adults. In a second step, the effectiveness of the intervention is evaluated. The project involves a qualitative study as well as a randomized controlled trial.

Project status: Ongoing (2020 – 2023)
Contact: Christine Dworschak, MSc. (Principal Investigator), Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator) and PD Dr. Eva Heim (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Trauma metaphors in Swiss Travellers in old age

The aim of this qualitative study is to investigate how older adults experience traumatic events and which metaphors and other linguistic expressions they use when talking about it. The plan is to examine different groups of older adults who have experienced or witnessed traumatic events in the past or present. The first group to be examined will be older Swiss Travellers. Semi-structured interviews will be conducted for this purpose. The focus of the study is not on personal stories of suffering, but on the general experience and the general language customs of this age group.

Project status: Ongoing (2020 - 2023)
Contact: Sandra Rossi, MSc. (Principal Investigator), Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator) and Prof. Dr. Eva Heim (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Differential aging trajectories in high-risk individuals with past experiences of early adversity

It is the overarching aim of this project to identify the determinants and underlying mechanisms associated with past experiences of early-life adversity within a welfare context, which differentiate detrimental outcomes and trajectories from relative unharmed (resilient) or maybe also positive outcomes and trajectories in later life. This is a prospective longitudinal study with a mid- to older-aged Swiss cohort of persons that were affected by compulsory social measures and placements (CSMP) in their childhood and/or adolescence. This study examines outcomes and trajectories of psychological and physical health over time, as well as related vulnerability and resilience factors.

Project status: Ongoing (2018 – 2022)
Contact: PD Dr. Myriam Thoma (Principal Investigator) and Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Health and resilience following stress or adversity: Psychological factors associated with positive health outcomes in older adults with varying experiences of early childhood adversity

It was the aim of this project to investigate underlying psychological, environmental, and cultural mechanisms of resilience, which may explain differences in the health and well-being of older adults with past experiences of adversity. Building on the previous research with Swiss former Verdingkinder of the research group, this project assessed coping and resilience in Irish older adults with varying experiences of stress or adversity, including survivors of childhood institutional maltreatment. It involved a two-part, mixed methods study: A cross-sectional, quantitative survey using standardized questionnaires, and qualitative semi-structured interviews.

Project status: Completed in 2020
Contact: Dr. Shauna Rohner (Principal Investigator) and PD Dr. Myriam Thoma (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Healthy aging despite the odds – mechanisms behind the steeling effect

This project aimed to investigate potential strengthening or steeling processes in response to the experience of childhood adversity and their hypothesized impact on healthy ageing. The project consisted of two sub-studies: a qualitative interview study with N = 12 successfully aged older Swiss former indentured child laborers (aged 50 years or older), i.e. Verdingkinder (Sub-Study I) and a quantitative longitudinal survey study with a convenience sample (over N = 300; aged 50 years or older) with two assessments one year apart (Sub-Study II).

Project status: Completed in 2018
Contact: Dr. Jan Hoeltge (Principal Investigator) and PD Dr. Myriam Thoma (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Motivational reserve in old age and models of healthy aging in a medical sample

This project aimed at examining motivational reserve as a protective factor in mild Alzheimer’s dementia (AD) and mild cognitive impairment (MCI). Motivational reserve (MR) is defined as a set of motivational abilities that provide the individual with resilience to neuropathological damage. Motivational abilities include decision regulation, activation regulation, motivation regulation, and self-efficacy. In the four-wave prospective longitudinal study, the predictive value of MR on MCI stability and conversion to dementia was investigated.

Project status: Completed in 2017
Contact: Prof. Dr. Simon Forstmeier (Principal Investigator) and Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Psychological health stabilization in Swiss Verdingkinder in old age

This project investigated former Verdingkinder and their offspring in a prospective longitudinal study. Particular focus of this study was on the long-term impact of early-life adversity on mental health in older age as well as on the impact of PTSD on biological aging processes. Further, this study examined the impact of parental rearing behavior in the transgenerational conveyance of parental childhood adversity and filial psychological health.

Project status: Completed in 2016
Contact: Dr. Dr. Zoya Marinova (Principal Investigator) and Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator)

Resilienz

***

Gesundheit und Resilienz nach Stress oder Widrigkeit: Psychologische Faktoren in Zusammenhang mit positiven Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit bei älteren Erwachsenen mit variierenden Erfahrungen frühkindlicher Widrigkeiten

Das Ziel dieses Projekts liegt in der Untersuchung zugrundeliegender psychologischer, umweltbedingter und kultureller Mechanismen von Resilienz, die Unterschiede in der Gesundheit und im Wohlbefinden älterer Erwachsener mit in der Vergangenheit erfahrenen Widrigkeiten erklären können. Aufbauend auf bisheriger Forschung dieser Gruppe mit ehemaligen Schweizer Verdingkindern werden in diesem Projekt die Bewältigung und Resilienz älterer irischer Erwachsener mit variierenden Erfahrungen von Stress und Widrigkeiten, einschliesslich Überlebende von institutioneller Kindheitsmisshandlung, untersucht. Genauer handelt es sich um eine zweiteilige, methodisch gemischte Studie: Eine querschnittliche, quantitative Umfrage mit standardisierten Fragebögen gefolgt von qualitativen, semistrukturierten Interviews.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Shauna Mc Gee (Projektleitung) und Dr. Myriam Thoma (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Differenzielle Altersverläufe bei Hoch-Risiko-Individuen mit Erfahrungen frühkindlicher Widrigkeiten

Das übergeordnete Ziel dieses Projekts beinhaltet die Identifikation von Determinanten und zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen von vergangenen Widrigkeiten in frühen Lebensjahren im Kontext des Sozialwesens, die zwischen schädlichen Verläufen und relativ ungeschädigten (resilienten) Verläufen bis hin zu positiven Verläufen im späteren Leben unterscheiden. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine prospektive Längsschnittstudie mit einer Schweizer Kohorte mittleren bis hohen Alters, die von sozialen Zwangsmassnahmen und -platzierungen in ihrer Kindheit und/oder Adoleszenz betroffen waren. Diese Studie untersucht Folgen und Verläufe psychologischer und physischer Gesundheit über die Zeit sowie damit verbundene Vulnerabilitäten und Resilienzfaktoren.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Dr. Myriam Thoma (Co-Principal Investigator) und Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Gesundes Altern wider Erwarten – Mechanismen hinter dem „Steeling-Effekt“

In diesem Projekt wurden die potentiell stärkenden Prozesse in Folge erfahrener Widrigkeiten in der Kindheit und ihre angenommene Auswirkung auf das gesunde Altern untersucht. Das Projekt bestand aus zwei Teilstudien: eine qualitative Interviewstudie mit 12 erfolgreich gealterten ehemaligen Schweizer Verdingkindern (im Alter von 50 Jahren oder älter; Teilstudie I) und eine quantitative längsschnittliche Umfragestudie mit einer nicht repräsentativen Stichprobe (über 300 Personen im Alter von 50 Jahren oder älter) mit zwei Messungen, die ein Jahr auseinanderlagen (Teilstudie II).

Projektstatus: abgeschlossen in 2018
Kontakt: Jan Hoeltge (Projektleitung) und Dr. Myriam Thoma (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Motivationale Reserve im hohen Alter und Modelle des gesunden Alterns in einer medizinischen Stichprobe

Mit diesem Projekt untersuchten wir die motivationale Reserve (MR) als protektiven Faktor bei leichter Alzheimer-Demenz und leichter kognitiver Beeinträchtigung („Mild Cognitive Impairment“, MCI). Die MR wird als eine Reihe motivationaler Fähigkeiten definiert, welche Individuen mit Resilienz gegen neuropathologische Schäden ausstattet. Motivationale Fähigkeiten beinhalten die Entscheidungsregulation, die Aktivierungsregulation, die Motivationsregulation und die Selbstwirksamkeit. In einer prospektiven Längsschnittstudie mit vier Messwellen wurde der prädiktive Wert der MR auf die MCI-Stabilität und die Konversion zur Demenzdiagnose untersucht.

Projektstatus: abgeschlossen in 2017
Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Simon Forstmeier (Co-Principal Investigator) und
Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator)

 

***

Psychologische Gesundheitsstabilisierung bei Schweizer Verdingkindern im hohen Alter

In diesem Projekt wurden ehemalige Verdingkinder und ihre Nachkommen in einer prospektiven Längsschnittstudie untersucht. Von primärem Interesse waren die langfristigen Auswirkungen frühkindlicher Widrigkeiten auf die mentale Gesundheit im Alter und die Auswirkungen von PTSD auf biologische Alterungsprozesse. Zudem erforschte diese Studie die Auswirkungen von elterlichem Züchtigungsverhalten in der transgenerationalen Übermittlung elterlicher Kindheitswidrigkeiten und kindlicher psychologischer Gesundheit.

Projektstatus: abgeschlossen in 2016
Kontakt: Dr. Dr. Zoya Marinova (Projektleitung) und Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Maercker (Co-Principal Investigator)