Training Lab

***

The Healthy Aging and Plasticity (h-CAP) study

The main objectives of this project were to understand the influence of lab-based interventions (cognitive training) and real-life experiences (e.g., social or physical activity) on cognitive functioning. More specifically, we aimed to (1) investigate the effectiveness of a working memory training intervention regarding transfer effects, (2) to evaluate the influence of individual differences (e.g., personality, beliefs) in predicting training effectiveness, and (3) to assess the relationship between everyday life activities, cognition and functional ability. The h-CAP study is a large longitudinal training study including over 150 older adults.

Project status: completed in 2018
Contact: Dr. Sabrina Guye

 

***

Working memory training

This project investigates whether intensive training with tasks that challenge working memory leads to a general improvement of working-memory capacity that generalizes to new working-memory tasks as well as to tests of fluid intelligence. In a large randomized control study we tested the effectiveness of two working-memory trainings in comparison to an active control group. Both trainings improved performance on the trained tasks, but there was no transfer to other, not-trained tasks. We conclude that working-memory training is not effective.

Project status: completed in 2018
Contact: Dr. Claudia von Bastian

 

***

Hotel Plastisse: Development of an iPad-based serious game for cognitive trainings in late life

This research group aimed to design an effective cognitive training intervention for healthy elderly adults. For this purpose, the iPad-based serious game «Hotel Plastisse» was developed, which allows the comparison of the simultaneous training of spatial navigation, visuomotor function and inhibition to the training of each of these functions separately. Further, an intervention study with 84 healthy elderly adults aged 64 to 75 was conducted, in which participants trained on an iPad at home for 50 training sessions. In comparison to the three single-domain training conditions, participants in the multi-domain training condition showed stronger far transfer effects to measures of attentional control

Project status: completed in 2016
Contact: Dr. Christina Röcke

 

***

The Object-Location-Memory (OLM) training study

The process-based OLM training study was designed to enhance object location memory in older adults and to potentially transfer to untrained measures. This study provides first empirical evidence that process-based training can enhance the associative memory performance and positively affect untrained episodic memory and reasoning abilities in healthy older adults aged 60 to 75 years. Specifically, the experimental group (n=36) completed 30 sessions of process-based object-location memory training, while the active control group (n=31) practiced visual perception on the same material. Near (spatial episodic memory), intermediate (verbal episodic memory), and far transfer effects (reasoning) were assessed with multiple tasks at four measurements. Linear mixed-effects models revealed transfer effects on spatial episodic memory and reasoning that were still observed 4 months after training.

Project status: completed in 2014
Contact: Dr. Susan Mérillat

Trainings-Labor

***

Die Healthy Aging and Plasticity (h-CAP) Studie

Die Hauptziele dieses Projekts waren, den Einfluss von laborbasierten Interventionen (kognitives Training) und Alltagsaktivitäten (z.B. soziale oder körperliche Aktivität) auf die kognitive Funktion zu verstehen. Genauer gesagt zielten wir darauf ab, (1) die Effektivität einer Arbeitsgedächtnistrainingsintervention hinsichtlich Transfereffekten zu untersuchen, (2) den Einfluss individueller Unterschiede (z.B. Persönlichkeit, Überzeugungen) bei der Vorhersage der Trainingseffektivität zu verstehen und (3) den Zusammenhang zwischen Alltagsaktivitäten, Kognition und Funktionsfähigkeit im Alltag zu erforschen. Die h-CAP-Studie ist eine grosse Längsschnittstudie mit über 150 älteren Erwachsenen.

Projektstatus: abgeschlossen in 2018
Kontakt: Dr. Sabrina Guye

 

***

Arbeitsgedächtnis–Training

Dieses Projekt untersucht, ob das intensive Trainieren von Arbeitsgedächtnisaufgaben, zu einer allgemeinen Verbesserung der Arbeitsgedächtniskapazität führt, die auf neue Arbeitsgedächtnisaufgaben sowie auf fluide Intelligenztests generalisierbar ist. In einer grossen randomisiert-kontrollierten Studie testeten wir dazu die Effektivität zweier Arbeitsgedächtnistrainings im Vergleich zu einer aktiven Kontrollgruppe. Beide Trainings führten zu einer verbesserten Leistung in den trainierten Aufgaben, aber es resultierte kein Transfer auf andere, nicht trainierte Aufgaben. Wir schliessen daraus, dass Arbeitsgedächtnistraining nicht effektiv ist.

Projektstatus: abgeschlossen in 2018
Kontakt: Dr. Claudia von Bastian

 

***

Hotel Plastisse: Entwicklung eines iPad-basierten Spiels für kognitive Trainings im Alter

Unsere Forschungsgruppe verfolgte mit diesem Projekt das Ziel, eine effektive kognitive Trainingsintervention für gesunde ältere Menschen zu entwickeln. Dazu wurde das iPad-basierte Spiel «Hotel Plastisse» designt, welches den Vergleich zwischen dem kombinierten Training der räumlichen Orientierung, der visuomotorischen Funktion und der Inhibitionsleistung mit dem einzelnen Trainieren der genannten Fähigkeiten ermöglicht. Darauf wurde eine entsprechende Interventionsstudie mit 84 gesunden Erwachsenen im Alter von 64 bis 75 Jahren durchgeführt, wobei die Teilnehmenden zuhause per iPad 50 Trainingseinheiten dieses Spiels absolvierten. Im Vergleich zu den drei separaten Trainingsbedingungen zeigten sich bei der kombinierten Bedingung grössere ferne Transfereffekte hinsichtlich der Aufmerksamkeitskontrolle.

Projektstatus: completed in 2016
Kontakt: Dr. Christina Röcke

 

***

Die Objekt-Lokations-Gedächtnis (OLM) Trainingsstudie

Diese Studie zeigt erstmals, dass ein prozessbasiertes Training bei gesunden Erwachsenen im Alter von 60 bis 75 Jahren die assoziative Gedächtnisleistung erhöhen und untrainierte Fähigkeiten wie das episodische Gedächtnis sowie das logische Schlussfolgerns verbessern kann. Dazu absolvierte die Experimentalgruppe (n=36) unserer Studie 30 prozessbasierte Objekt-Lokations-Gedächtnistrainingseinheiten, während die aktive Kontrollgruppe (n=31) mithilfe desselben Materials eine andere Aufgabe übte. Nahe (räumliches episodisches Gedächtnis), mittlere (verbales episodisches Gedächtnis) sowie ferne Transfereffekte (logisches Schlussfolgern) wurden anhand mehrerer Aufgaben zu vier Messzeitpunkten eingeschätzt. Anhand linearer gemischter Modelle konnten selbst 4 Monate nach dem Training Transfereffekte bezüglich des räumlichen episodischen Gedächtnisses sowie des logischen Schlussfolgerns gezeigt werden.

Projektstatus: abgeschlossen in 2014
Kontakt: Dr. Susan Mérillat