Neuromodulation and Applied Neuroplasticity

***

How does tinnitus affect speech understanding?

People suffering from tinnitus often report problems understanding speech in a noisy environment. Some studies have already confirmed that this is particularly difficult for people with tinnitus. A noisy environment is part of most people's everyday life. Whether in a restaurant or on the street, background noise makes it difficult to understand spoken speech, especially with increasing age and hearing loss. In a current study, we use electroencephalography (EEG), hearing and behavior tests to find out to what extent various factors such as tinnitus, hearing loss and cognition (e.g. attention-grabbing ability) are involved in understanding language and interact with each other.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Titularprofessor Dr. Martin Meyer

 

***

Tomographic neurofeedback interventions in elderly patients with chronic tinnitus

Chronic tinnitus is a hearing sensation that is not triggered by an external acoustic signal, but is caused by self-activation of the hearing system and is perceived by those affected as a real, often extremely stressful noise. We use neurofeedback to overwrite the anomal neural signatures that are associated with tinnitus perception.Through the innovative method of tomographic neurofeedback, the cortical regions that have been specifically marked by the combination of neurofeedback with the EEG source estimation methods can be targeted and their activity specifically modified.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Titularprofessor Dr. Martin Meyer

 

***

Neuromodulation interventions in patients with chronic tinnitus

In addition to acoustic stimulation and neurofeedback, active brain stimulation (neuromodulation) at the head surface is proposed as a third effective method for alleviating chronic tinnitus. A considerable number of studies have already been carried out using various approaches to transcranial magnetic stimulation and transcranial electrical stimulation (weak, barely perceptible and harmless currents) - with different and sometimes contradictory results. The success of the treatment seemed to depend strongly on the selected tinnitus subtypes as well as the stimulation protocols and assemblies. In an ongoing study, we are therefore testing the effectiveness of an innovative protocol based on an established tinnitus network model of the brain. We expect to attenuate the progressive chronification of tinnitus in people who have not been suffering from tinnitus for a long time.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Titularprofessor Dr. Martin Meyer

 

***

Speech intelligibility and perception in older adults at the interaction of aging, cognition, tinnitus, and hearing loss

This research project uses imaging, behavioral and audiometric methods to investigate to what extent speech processing is impaired in people with various forms of hearing loss and chronic subjective tinnitus. In particular the investigation of central hearing loss is focused. We combine structural MRI, behavioral and audiometric measurements and electroencephalography. The efficiency of a multisensory language training for the hearing impaired will also be evaluated.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Titularprofessor Dr. Martin Meyer

 

***

The importance of spectral and temporal information for the processing of speech depending on age-related hearing loss

Decreasing integrity and functioning of the auditory system results in problems in understanding spoken language and, as a consequence, in difficulties in participating in conversations and in a reduced quality of life. In addition, the probability of hearing loss inevitably increases with age. The focus here is on the changes in the processing of acoustic information across the lifespan as a function of the aging brain.

Project status: completed in 2018
Contact: Titularprofessor Dr. Martin Meyer

Neuromodulation und Angewandte Neuroplastizität

***

Wie beeinflusst Tinnitus das Sprachverständnis?

An Tinnitus leidende Menschen berichten oft von Problemen im Sprachverständnis in geräuschvollen Umgebungen. Einige Studien haben bereits bestätigt, dass dies für Menschen mit Tinnitus besonders schwierig ist. Eine geräuschvolle Umgebung ist Teil des Alltags der meisten Menschen. Ob in einem Restaurant oder auf der Strasse, Hintergrundgeräusche erschweren das Verständnis gesprochener Sprache – vor allem mit zunehmendem Alter oder bei Hörverlust. In einer aktuellen Studie verwenden wir Elektroenzephalographie (EEG) bei Hör- und Verhaltenstests, um herauszufinden, in welchem Ausmass diverse Faktoren wie Tinnitus, Hörverlust und Kognition (z.B. Fähigkeit zur Aufmerksamkeitserregung) in das Sprachverständnis involviert sind und wie diese zusammen interagieren.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Martin Meyer


***

Tomographische Neurofeedback-Interventionen bei älteren Patienten mit chronischem Tinnitus

Chronischer Tinnitus ist eine Hörempfindung, die nicht durch ein externes akustisches Signal ausgelöst wird, sondern durch eine Selbstaktivierung des Hörsystems verursacht wird und von Betroffenen als ein reales, oft extrem stressbehaftetes Geräusch wahrgenommen wird. Wir verwenden Neurofeedback, um die anomalen neuralen Signaturen zu überschreiben, die mit der Tinnitus-Wahrnehmung zusammenhängen. Durch die innovative Methode des tomographischen Neurofeedbacks können die kortikalen Regionen, die anhand einer Kombination von Neurofeedback mit der EEG-Quellenschätzung spezifisch gekennzeichnet wurden, ins Auge gefasst und deren Aktivität spezifisch modifiziert werden.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Martin Meyer


***

Neuromodulations-Interventionen bei Patienten mit chronischem Tinnitus

Zusätzlich zur akustischen Stimulation und zum Neurofeedback wird die aktive Gehirnstimulation (Neuromodulation) an der Kopfoberfläche als dritte effektive Methode zur Abschwächung von chronischem Tinnitus postuliert. Eine beträchtliche Anzahl von Studien wurde bereits durchgeführt, die diverse Ansätze zur transkranialen magnetischen Stimulation und transkranialen elektrischen Stimulation (schwache, kaum wahrnehmbare und harmlose elektrische Ströme) verwendeten – mit unterschiedlichen und zum Teil widersprüchlichen Resultaten. Der Erfolg der Behandlung schien dabei stark von den ausgewählten Tinnitus-Subtypen sowie von den Stimulationsprotokollen und -zusammenstellungen abzuhängen. In einer laufenden Studie testen wir deshalb die Effektivität eines innovativen Protokolls basierend auf einem etablierten Tinnitus-Netzwerkmodell des Gehirns. Wir erwarten, die progressive Chronifizierung von Tinnitus bei Menschen, die seit langer Zeit nicht unter Tinnitus gelitten haben, abzuschwächen.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Martin Meyer

 

***

Sprachverständlichkeit und -wahrnehmung bei älteren Erwachsenen in Interaktion mit Altern, Kognition, Tinnitus und Hörverlust

Dieses Forschungsprojekt verwendet bildgebende, behaviorale und audiometrische Methoden, um das Ausmass der Beeinträchtigung der Sprachverarbeitung bei Menschen mit diversen Formen von Hörverlust und chronischem subjektivem Tinnitus zu untersuchen. Genauer wird die Untersuchung des zentralen Hörverlusts fokussiert. Dafür kombinieren wir strukturelle Magnetresonanztomographie, behaviorale und audiometrische Masse sowie Elektroenzephalographie. Zudem wird die Effizienz eines multisensorischen Sprachtrainings für Menschen mit einer Hörbeeinträchtigung evaluiert.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Martin Meyer

 

***
Die Wichtigkeit spektraler und temporaler Information für die Sprachverarbeitung in Abhängigkeit des altersbezogenen Hörverlusts

Die abnehmende Integrität und Funktion des auditorischen Systems resultiert in Problemen beim Verstehen gesprochener Sprache und folglich in Schwierigkeiten bei der Teilnahme an Konversationen und in einer reduzierten Lebensqualität. Zudem steigt die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Hörverlusts zwangsläufig mit dem Alter an. Der Fokus dieses Forschungsprojekts liegt auf den Veränderungen in der Verarbeitung akustischer Information über die Lebensspanne als Funktion des alternden Gehirns.

Projektstatus: abgeschlossen in 2018
Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Martin Meyer