Cross-Cutting Research

Research Groups

Reserach Group Multiscale Healthy Aging Data Management and Valorization

The main goal of this research group is to design, launch and operate an integrative environment that fosters efficient, sustainable and secure data and analysis management throughout the research data cycle, to implement procedures and regulations for sharing and combining data, to facilitate matchmaking between data producers and data users, and to add value to existing data by data augmentation. We envision an environment that complements conventional pooled anonymized data with innovative ideas on data ownership and distribution. This infrastructure is meant to support the entire Healthy Longevity and Aging research process from initial planning to publication and translation with the particular focus on sustainability and innovation. Go to projects

Research group Law and Ethics

The research group Law & Ethics of the URPP DynAge investigates ethical and legal challenges of datarich research. Topics include compliance of such research with data protection law, fair and transparent data management, ensuring informed consent in datarich research or protecting the contextual integrity of data for preventing misuse. Among others, the project aims to develop novel approaches for applying the principles of data protection law the requirements for the lawfulness of data processing and the granting of data subject rights (e.g. the right to object) in a research environment. Go to projects

 

Research Group Mobility Analytics

This research group uses tracking data from GPS and IMU (inertial measurement unit) sensors to study how spatial mobility and physical activity contribute to health and well-being at older age. The sensor data are used to extract a broad set of indicators of individual daily mobility and physical activity, and link the movement of individuals to the semantics of places visited and paths traveled. This rich information contributes to within-person mobility and activity profiles, which may then be associated with a wide range of situational characteristics and dispositional quality of life and performance measures to explain interindividual differences in the intraindividual profiles. Go to projects

 

Research Group Multimodal Data Integration

Health data acquisition has been profoundly boosted by recent advances in computation, storage, and especially sensing technologies. With ever more data being collected and shared across the world, a vision is emerging which is to conduct research based on the integration of datasets that come from different research projects. Our ultimate goal is to form a coherent picture that reveals the relationship between variables that are distributed across different datasets. We will focus on the issues that arise along with this vision, including multimodal data organization, representation, imputation, and more. Go to projects

 

Research Group Method Development

This group develops novel methodological approaches to study variations in cognitive performance across the lifespan and along the continuum from healthy to pathological functioning. Specifically, we investigate the potential for plasticity, mechanisms for stabilization and compensation across the lifespan. For this, we acquire and analyze multimodal data sets, such as simultaneous EEG and eye-tracking, structural MRI and diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) as well as behavioral data. From these rich data sets, we extract multivariate parameters and apply state-of-the-art methods, such as machine learning, functional network modelling, and longitudinal analyses. Go to projects

Themen- und disziplinübergreifende Forschung

Forschungsgruppen

Forschungsgruppe Datenmanagement komplexer Alternsdaten

Das Hauptziel dieser Forschungsgruppe ist es, eine integrative Umgebung zu schaffen, die (a) ein effizientes, nachhaltiges und sicheres Management von Daten und Analysen über den gesamten Forschungsdatenzyklus hinweg gewährleistet, (b) Workflows und Richtlinien für die gemeinsame Nutzung und die Kombination von Daten zur Verfügung stellt und (c) Datenproduzenten und Datennutzer miteinander vernetzt. Diese Umgebung soll neben dem Management konventioneller, anonymisierter Datensätze auch die Umsetzung innovativer Ideen zu Dateneigentum und -nutzung ermöglichen. Im Sinne einer Infrastruktur soll sie den gesamten Forschungsprozess von der Planung bis zur Publikation und Translation unterstützen und somit zur Wertsteigerung von Forschungsdaten im Bereich von «Langlebigkeit und Gesundem Altern» beitragen. Zu den Projekten

 

Forschungsgruppe Recht und Ethik

Die Forschungsgruppe Recht & Ethik des UFSP DynAge untersucht ethische und rechtliche Herausforderungen datenintensiver Forschung. Themen sind u.a. die Vereinbarkeit solcher Forschung mit den Vorgaben des Datenschutzrechts, faires und transparentes Datenmanagement und der Schutz der kontextuellen Integrität von Daten zur Verhinderung von Missbrauch. Das Projekt zielt unter anderem darauf ab, neuartige Ansätze für die Anwendung der Grundsätze des Datenschutzrechts, die Anforderungen an die Rechtmässigkeit der Datenverarbeitung und die Gewährung von Betroffenenrechten (z. B. Auskunftsrecht) in einer Forschungsumgebung zu entwickeln. Zu den Projekten

 

Forschungsgruppe Mobilitäts-Analytik

Diese Forschungsgruppe nutzt Tracking-Daten von GPS- und IMU-Sensoren (Inertial Measurement Unit), um zu untersuchen, wie räumliche Mobilität und körperliche Aktivität zum Wohlbefinden im Alter beitragen. Die Sensordaten werden verwendet, um eine breite Palette von Indikatoren der individuellen täglichen Mobilität und körperlichen Aktivität zu extrahieren und die Bewegung von Personen mit der Semantik der besuchten Orte und zurückgelegten Wege zu verknüpfen. Diese reichhaltigen Informationen tragen zu intraindividuellen Mobilitäts- und Aktivitätsprofilen bei, die dann mit einer breiten Palette von situationsbezogenen und dispositionellen Lebensqualitäts- und Leistungsmassen in Verbindung gebracht werden können, um interindividuelle Unterschiede in den intraindividuellen Profilen zu erklären. Zu den Projekten

 

Forschungsgruppe Multimodale Datenintegration

Die Erfassung von Gesundheitsdaten wurde durch die Digitalisierung tiefgreifend verändert und vorangetrieben. Mit immer mehr Daten, die weltweit gesammelt und geteilt werden, wird es zusehends möglich, Forschung auf der Grundlage der Integration von Datensätzen zu betreiben, die aus verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten stammen. Ein ultimatives Ziel dabei ist es, ein kohärentes Gesamtbild zu erstellen, welches die Beziehung zwischen Variablen aufzeigt, die über verschiedene Datensätze verteilt sind. Dabei werden wir uns auf Ansätze abstützen, welche unter anderem Methoden der multimodalen Datenorganisation und des maschinellen Lernens verwenden. Zu den Projekten

 

Forschungsgruppe Methodenentwicklung

Die Gruppe entwickelt neuartige methodische Ansätze, um Variationen in der kognitiven Leistung über die Lebensspanne und entlang des Kontinuums vom gesunden zum pathologischen Altern zu untersuchen. Insbesondere untersuchen wir das Potenzial für Plastizität, Mechanismen zur Stabilisierung und Möglichkeiten der Kompensation über die Lebensspanne hinweg. Dazu erheben und analysieren wir multimodale Datensätze, wie z. B. simultanes EEG und Eye-Tracking, strukturelles MRT und Diffusion Tensor Imaging (DTI) sowie Verhaltensdaten. Aus diesen umfangreichen Datensätzen extrahieren wir multivariate Kennwerte und verwenden moderne Analysemethoden wie z. B. maschinelles Lernen, funktionelle Netzwerkmodellierung und Längsschnittanalysen. Zu den Projekten