Our Research Areas

URPP focus areas
URPP focus areas
URPP focus areas

The core URPP research agenda is organized around three overall topics, namely the (1) maintenance and stabilization of (2) quality of life and health (3) in adulthood, primarily in later adulthood and old age or with an age-comparative focus. In addition, research at the URPP is characterized by two specific methodological approaches: Due to our inherent interest in processes (overall stabilization, but also change at lower levels), we emphasize (1) longitudinal designs, including micro- and macro-time scales (e.g., ambulatory assessment, measurement burst designs, training studies, classical longitudinal studies), as well as (2) a focus on daily life contexts (rather than purely laboratory-based studies).

 

 

The Four Research Areas

Principles of Healthy Aging

 

This research area investigates cognitive, neurophysiological and neuroanatomical determinants of complex cognitive abilities or interventions to improve cognitive functioning. The area shares a strong methodological focus on the longitudinal covariance of behavioral and brain functioning over short-, medium-, and long-term time scales.

Research groups and labs

psychology, health, and quality of life

 

This research area shares an overall focus on stress-, hormonal-, resilience-, and motivational life-management processes and interventions in healthy aging. 

Research groups and labs

 

medicine, health, and quality of life

 

The main emphasis of this research area lies on quality of life-oriented assessments and interventions in multimorbidity in a diverse array of geriatric subgroups. Results will provide starting points for the development of need-oriented quality of life- and multimorbidity-management that incorporates personal needs and everyday demands.

Research groups and labs

translational health research

 

This research area serves as a complementary and cross-area structure to transform results obtained in the three other areas for the development and implementation of practice-oriented interventions and evaluations for the individualized stabilization of quality of life in older adults. 

Research groups and labs

Unsere Forschungsbereiche

UFSP Fokusbereiche
UFSP Fokusbereiche
UFSP Fokusbereiche

Die Forschungsagenda des UFSPs ist um drei Hauptthemen organisiert, nämlich die (1) Aufrechterhaltung und Stabilisierung von (2) Lebensqualität und Gesundheit (3) im Erwachsenenalter und speziell im späteren Erwachsenenalter und höheren Lebensalter oder auf Projekte mit einem altersvergleichenden Fokus. Zudem zeichnet sich die Forschung am UFSP durch zwei methodologische Ansätze aus: Aufgrund unseres inhärenten Interesses an Prozessen (Stabilisierung, aber auch Veränderungen) betonen wir (1) Längsschnittliche Studiendesigns wie Mikro- und Makro-Zeitreihen (z.B. Ambulatory Assessment, Measurement Burst Designs, Trainingsstudien, klassische Längsschnittstudien) und (2) die Wichtigkeit von Alltagskontexten (im Vergleich zu Studien die ausschliesslich Labormessungen beinhalten).

 

 

Die vier Forschungsbereiche

Grundlagen Gesunden Alterns

In diesem Forschungsbereich werden kognitive, neurophysiologische und neuroanatomische Determinanten komplexer kognitiver Fähigkeiten oder Interventionen zur Verbesserung der kognitiven Funktion untersucht. Der Bereich teilt einen starken methodischen Fokus auf die längsschnittliche Ko-Entwicklung von Verhaltens- und Gehirnfunktionen über kurz-, mittel- und langfristige Zeiträume.

Forschungsgruppen und Labore

Psychologie, Gesundheit und Lebensqualität

 

Dieser Forschungsbereich teilt einen allgemeinen Fokus auf Stress-, Hormon-, Resilienz- und Motivationsprozesse und Interventionen im Bereich des gesunden Alterns.

Forschungsgruppen und Labore

Medizin, Gesundheit und Lebensqualität

Der Schwerpunkt dieses Forschungsbereiches liegt auf lebensqualitätsorientierten Bewertungen und Interventionen bei Multimorbidität in einer Vielzahl von geriatrischen Untergruppen. Die Ergebnisse dieses Forschungsbereichs liefern Ansatzpunkte für die Entwicklung eines bedarfsorientierten Lebensqualitäts- und Multimorbiditätsmanagements, das die persönlichen Bedürfnisse und Alltagsanforderungen berücksichtigt.

Forschungsgruppen und Labore

Translationale Gesundheitsforschung

 

Dieser Forschungsbereich dient als komplementäre und bereichsübergreifende Struktur zur Transformation der in den drei anderen Bereichen erzielten Ergebnisse für die Entwicklung und Umsetzung praxisorientierter Interventionen und Evaluationen zur individuellen Stabilisierung der Lebensqualität bei älteren Menschen.

Forschungsgruppen und Labore