Medicine, Health, and Quality of Life

Research Groups

multimorbidity management

This research group focuses on drug-drug, drug-disease and disease-disease interactions and their relevance for the management of multimorbid patients (i.e. those with multiple acute and chronic diseases). We pursue two complementary streams of research that use different data sources and research methods. One stream relates to the development of techniques for assessing these interactions and quantifying their impact on health-related outcomes. The other stream uses data scientific methods in order to generate insights and knowledge from complex healthcare data about multimorbidity and to identify ways to improve multimorbidity management. Go to projects

quality of life with age-related chronic diseases

This research group evaluates the burden of chronic disease on quality of life at older age. Specifically, the group examines if and to what extent quality of life is reduced in groups of seniors with hip fractures, osteoarthritis of the knee, falls and sarcopenia. Several research questions will be addressed within these disease groups: Are there differences in quality of life as a function of gender, age, and indicators of functionality within these chronic disease groups? What are possible predictors of improvement of quality of life? Does quality of life recover after functional impairment related to these chronic disease groups? Go to projects

quality of life in dementia

 

The main focus of this research group is to understand the process of quality of life-stabilization at the end of life in individuals diagnosed with dementia. Go to projects

 

 

 

 

Research Labs

psychological-medical research collaborations lab

This lab bridges the gap between psychological and medical approaches to address processes of health-behavior change in the context of multimorbid and other geriatric populations of adults. To this end, the lab has established interdisciplinary collaborations with medical partners on psychosocial determinants of health behaviors (e.g., medication adherence, physical activity) of people with certain index diseases (e.g., cardiovascular disease) or multimorbidity. Our research further addresses questions on quality of life and coping with illness. Go to projects

within-person health activity analytics lab

This lab encompasses a URPP-wide conceptual and methods development structure with the aim to provide hard- and software devices for mobile ambulatory assessment, intervention, and analysis of health-related functioning in real life. The lab further provides support and guidance regarding within-person and process-oriented research focusing on health stabilization. This lab also develops, implements, and coordinates a large-scale measurement burst study to investigate the short-term fluctuations and long-term trajectories between cognitive, social, emotional functioning, mobility, and daily life contexts in healthy older adults. Go to projects

Medizin, Gesundheit und Lebensqualität

Forschungsgruppen

Multimorbiditäts-Management

Diese Forschungsgruppe fokussiert auf Medikament-Medikament-, Medikament-Krankheit- und Krankheit-Krankheit-Interaktionen und deren Relevanz für die Behandlung multimorbider Patienten. Sie verfolgt zwei komplementäre Forschungsströme, die unterschiedliche Datenquellen und Forschungsmethoden verwenden. Einerseits die Entwicklung von Techniken zur Erfassung dieser Interaktionen und Quantifizierung der gesundheitsbezogenen Folgen. Andererseits werden wissenschaftliche Analysemethoden verwendet, um aus komplexen Daten der Gesundheitsvorsorge Wissen über Multimorbidität zu generieren und Wege zur Verbesserung des Multimorbiditäts-Managements zu identifizieren. Zu den Projekten

 

Lebensqualität bei altersbedingten chronischen Erkrankungen

In dieser Forschungsgruppe wird die Einschränkung der Lebensqualität im hohen Lebensalter durch chronische Erkrankungen wie beispielsweise Hüftfrakturen, Kniearthrose, Stürzen und Sarkopenie untersucht. Innerhalb dieser Krankheitsgruppen werden mehrere Forschungsfragen behandelt: Gibt es Unterschiede in der Lebensqualität in Abhängigkeit von Geschlecht, Alter und Indikatoren für die Funktionalität innerhalb dieser chronischen Krankheitsgruppen? Was sind mögliche Prädiktoren für die Verbesserung der Lebensqualität? Erholt sich die Lebensqualität nach Funktionsstörungen im Zusammenhang mit diesen chronischen Krankheitsgruppen? Zu den Projekten

Lebensqualität bei Demenz

 

 

Der Schwerpunkt dieser Forschungsgruppe liegt auf dem Verständnis des Prozesses der Lebensqualität am Lebensende bei Menschen mit Demenzdiagnose. Zu den Projekten

 

 

 

Forschungslabore

Labor für psychologisch medizinische Kollaborationsforschung

Dieses Labor schliesst die Lücke zwischen psychologischen und medizinischen Ansätzen zur Untersuchung von Prozessen zur Gesundheitsverhaltensänderung im Kontext multimorbider und anderer geriatrischer Erwachsenenpopulationen. Zu diesem Zweck hat das Labor interdisziplinäre Kollaborationen mit medizinischen Partnern aufgebaut, um psychosoziale Determinanten von Gesundheitsverhalten (z.B. Medikationsadhärenz, körperliche Aktivität) von Menschen mit bestimmten Krankheitsbildern (z.B. Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankung) oder Multimorbidität zu untersuchen. Diese Forschungsgruppe beschäftigt sich weiter mit Fragen bezüglich der Lebensqualität und krankheitsbezogenen Bewältigungsmechanismen. Zu den Projekten

 

Labor für alltagsbasierte gesundheitsbezogene Aktivitätsforschung

Dieses Labor erfasst eine UFSP-weite konzeptuelle und methodologische Entwicklungsstruktur mit dem Ziel, Hard- und Softwaregeräte für die mobile ambulante Erfassung, Intervention und Analyse gesundheitsbezogener Alltagsaktivitäten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Zudem bietet dieses Labor Unterstützung und Beratung bezüglich intraindividueller und prozessorientierter Forschung mit dem Fokus auf Lebensqualität und Gesundheitsstabilisierung. Weiter entwickeln, implementieren und koordinieren wir eine grossangelegte Studie zur Untersuchung kurzzeitiger Fluktuationen und langfristiger Verläufe von kognitiven, sozialen und emotionalen Aktivitäten, der Mobilität sowie von alltäglichen Lebenskontexten bei gesunden älteren Erwachsenen. Zu den Projekten