Associated Researchers

Associated Assistant Professors

differential healthy aging research assistant professor mathias allemand

The primary interest lies in the understanding of the patterns, mechanisms, predictors, and outcomes of personality change, plasticity, and development in the context of healthy aging. The current scientific activities center around research questions with respect to long-term developmental processes and short-term change and stabilization processes. The group is also working on measuring activities in everyday life and in the lab using modern assessment technology and is developing mobile technology-based interventions to change personality. Go to website

 

longitudinal aging reseach assistant professor gizem hülür

The research is centered on individual differences in longitudinal trajectories of cognition and subjective well-being across the lifespan with a focus on old age. Human development unfolds over different time scales. We study developmental processes taking place at different levels of analysis, from generational differences that manifest across decades, to macro-longitudinal trajectories across several years, and micro-longitudinal processes across days. Multi-year trajectories of development are linked to individual differences in experiences and behaviors in daily life. Go to website

 

methods of plasticity research assistant professor (tenured) nicki langer

The Methods of Plasticity Research Lab aims to advance the understanding about neuronal plasticity, mechanisms for stabilization and compensation across the lifespan. We focus on the development of new neurophysiological and neuroimaging measures to assess changes in cognitive functioning, such as perceptual processing, learning, (working-) memory, decision-making and processing speed. In this context, we design and implement novel multi-modal experimental paradigms (e.g. combined EEG and eye-tracking), offering wealth of features that are analyzed with state of the art methods, including functional network models, machine learning, longitudinal analyses and computational cognitive modeling. Go to website

 

cognitive decision psychology SNF professor bettina v. helversen

Our research centers on understanding and modeling complex decision-making processes across the lifespan. We investigate the cognitive strategies people use when making judgments and decisions and how these are shaped by individual differences in cognitive abilities, emotions, and task features. A special focus of our work is on understanding how decision and memory processes are interlinked. Our long-term goal is to identify task features that enable us to design decision environments that facilitate maintaining and improving decision performance in the elderly. Go to website

 

cognitive and affective neuroscience SNF professor sascha frühholz

Our research group focuses on the cognitive, psychological and neural processes that underlie the processing of visual and auditory environmental stimuli as well as emotional stimuli. We have a research focus in auditory and in affective neuroscience. Research projects deal with the cognitive and neural mechanisms of face and voice perception, on voice production, and on emotional processing. We investigate these mechanisms in healthy individuals and in different neurological and psychiatric patient populations as well as in different age groups (children, adults, elderly people).Go to website

 

Associated Research Group Leaders

CoupleSense: HIER group leader andrea horn

This research group focusses the examination of interpersonal regulation in pair relationships. The interplay between intra- and interpersonal emotion regulation, which is observed in relation to health over the lifespan, is of particular interest. The research is informed through current perspectives on emotion regulation, close relationships, stress response and depression. Another focus is set on the examination of language use, which enables inference about health-relevant parameters in the analysis of real conversations or expressive writing tasks. Methodically, the primary emphasis lies on the assessment via the dyadic ambulatory assessment, which allows the synchronized examination of the variables of interest in everyday life and over time. Besides the subjective experience, also objective data is assessed via Sensing, for example what time the partners spend time with one another. Go to website

 

muawo group leader matthias hofer

The project focuses on the dynamic relationship between older adults’ media use and their (social, subjective, and psychological) well-being. To examine these dynamics, a measurement burst study (MBS) over two years is planned to track media use and well-being of 100 healthy older adults (60+). More specifically, we apply a longitudinal research design combining (a) longitudinal assessments over relatively long periods and (b) intensive daily assessments of older adults’ well-being and continuous registration of their media use. Finally, the study focuses on the examination of the influence of personality and situational factors on older adults’ media use and well-being. Go to website

Beteiligte Forschende

Beteiligte Assistenzprofessuren

Differenzielle Gesundheitsforschung des Alterns Assistenzprofessur Mathias Allemand

Das Hauptinteresse liegt im Verstehen von Mustern, Mechanismen, Prädiktoren und Folgen von Persönlichkeitsveränderungen, -plastizität und -entwicklung im Kontext des gesunden Alterns. Aktuell liegt der Fokus unserer Forschungsaktivitäten auf Forschungsfragen in Bezug auf die langfristigen Entwicklungsprozesse und kurzfristigen Veränderungs- und Stabilisierungsprozesse von Persönlichkeit. Die Forschungsgruppe arbeitet zudem an Möglichkeiten zur Messung von Alltagsaktivitäten im Feld und im Labor mittels moderner Messtechnologien und entwickelt mobile, technologiebasierte Interventionen zur Persönlichkeitsveränderung. Zur Webseite

 

Längsschnittforschung des Alterns

In diesem Lab werden individuelle Unterschiede in Verlaufsveränderungen der Kognition und des subjektiven Wohlbefindens über die Lebensspanne mit Fokus auf das hohe Alter untersucht. Die menschliche Entwicklung kann vor dem Hintergrund unterschiedlicher Zeitskalen betrachtet werden. Deshalb untersuchen wir Entwicklungsprozesse, die auf unterschiedlichen Analyseebenen stattfinden: Von Generationsunterschieden, die sich über Jahrzehnte hinweg manifestieren, zu makro-längsschnittlichen Verläufen über Jahre und mikro-längsschnittlichen Prozessen über Tage hinweg. Mehrjährige Entwicklungsverläufe stehen in Zusammenhang mit individuellen Unterschieden in alltäglichen Erfahrungen und Verhaltensweisen. Zur Webseite

 

Methoden der Plastizitätsforschung Assistenzprofessur mit Tenure Nicolas Langer

Das Labor für Methoden der Plastizitätsforschung beabsichtigt mit seiner Forschung das Verständnis über neuronaler Plastizität, Mechanismen der Stabilisierung und der Kompensation über die Lebensspanne hinweg zu fördern. Den Fokus setzen wir dabei auf die Entwicklung neuer neurophysiologischer und bildgebender Verfahren zur Veränderungsmessung kognitiver Funktionen wie beispielsweise der Wahrnehmungsverarbeitung, des Lernens, des (Arbeits-)Gedächtnisses, der Entscheidungsfindung und der Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit. In diesem Kontext entwerfen und implementieren wir neue multimodale experimentelle Paradigmen (z.B. EEG kombiniert mit Eye-Tracking), deren vielfältige Eigenschaften wir mit neusten Methoden, inklusive funktionaler Netzwerkmodelle, maschinellem Lernen, Längsschnittanalysen und rechnergestütztem kognitiver Modellierung, analysieren. Zur Webseite

 

Kognitive Entscheidungspsychologie SNF Professur Bettina von Helversen

Unsere Forschung beschäftigt sich mit dem Verstehen und Modellieren komplexer Entscheidungsfindungsprozesse über die Lebensspanne. Wir untersuchen sowohl die kognitiven Strategien, die Menschen zur Urteils- und Entscheidungsfindung nutzen, als auch wie diese Strategien durch individuelle Unterschiede in den kognitiven Fähigkeiten, Emotionen und Aufgabeneigenschaften beeinflusst werden. Ein besonderer Fokus unserer Arbeit liegt auf dem Verständnis, wie Entscheidungs- und Gedächtnisprozesse zusammenhängen. Unser langfristiges Ziel beinhaltet die Identifikation von Aufgabeneigenschaften, die es uns erlauben, Entscheidungsumwelten so zu gestalten, dass Entscheidungsverhalten im Alter aufrechterhalten oder verbessert werden kann. Zur Webseite

 

Kognitive und affektive Neurowissenschaften SNF Professur Sascha Frühholz

Unsere Forschungsgruppe untersucht kognitive, psychologische und neurale Prozesse, die der Verarbeitung visueller und auditorischer Umweltreize sowie emotionaler Stimuli zugrunde liegen. Unser Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der auditorischen und affektiven Neurowissenschaft. Forschungsprojekte beschäftigen sich mit kognitiven und neuralen Mechanismen der Gesichts- und Stimmwahrnehmung, der Sprachproduktion und der emotionalen Verarbeitung. Wir untersuchen diese Mechanismen bei gesunden Individuen und bei verschiedenen neurologischen und psychiatrischen Patientenpopulationen sowie unterschiedlichen Altersgruppen (Kinder, Erwachsene, ältere Menschen). Zur Webseite

 

 

Beteiligte Forschungsgruppenleitende

CoupleSense: HIER Gruppenleitung Andrea Horn

Der Schwerpunkt dieser Forschungsgruppe liegt auf der Untersuchung interpersoneller Regulation in Paarbeziehungen. Dabei interessiert besonders das Wechselspiel zwischen intra- und interpersoneller Emotionsregulation, die im Zusammenhang mit Gesundheit über die Lebensspanne betrachtet wird. Die Forschung basiert auf aktuellen Perspektiven der Emotionsregulation, Beziehungen, „stress-response“ und Depressionen. Ein weiterer Fokus liegt auf der Untersuchung des Sprachgebrauchs, der in der Analyse von realen Gesprächen oder expressiven Schreibaufgaben Rückschlüsse über gesundheitsrelevante Parameter ermöglicht. Methodisch liegt die Erhebung mittels dyadischem ambulatorischen Assessment im Zentrum, welche die synchronisierte Untersuchung der interessierenden Variablen im Alltag und im Zeitverlauf ermöglicht. Neben dem subjektiven Erleben werden mittels Sensing auch objektive Daten erhoben, beispielsweise wann die Partner miteinander Zeit verbringen. Zur Webseite

 

MUAWO Gruppenleitung Matthias Hofer

In diesem Projekt liegt der Fokus auf dem dynamischen Zusammenhang zwischen Mediennutzung und sozialem, subjektivem und psychologischem Wohlbefinden älterer Menschen. Geplant ist eine „Measurement Burst“-Studie, um diese Dynamik über zwei Jahre hinweg bei 100 gesunden älteren Erwachsenen (60+) zu untersuchen. Genauer verwenden wir ein längsschnittliches Forschungsdesign, wobei (a) längsschnitlliche Messungen über relativ lange Zeiträume und (b) intensive tägliche Messungen des Wohlbefindens und die kontinuierliche Erfassung der Mediennutzung kombiniert werden. Weiter will diese Studie den Einfluss von Persönlichkeit und situationsbedingten Faktoren auf die Mediennutzung und das Wohlbefinden älterer Menschen erforschen.  Zur Webseite