Strategic Plan

What are the main aims of the new global network?

During a high-level strategic meeting convened by and at WHO in October 2017 on “Building a Global Research Agenda for Healthy Ageing”, participants decided to foster bilateral collaborations between research institutions and the WHO’s regional offices as well as WHO Headquarters to create a network that would efficiently channel and integrate new initiatives that address knowledge gaps, advance WHO priorities in the domain of ageing and health, encourage innovations in research and application, and strengthen capacity in countries, to follow-up on the Global Strategy and Action Plan (GSAP) on Ageing and Health and create a platform and partnership for a Decade of Healthy Ageing, 2020-2030.

This global network thus includes and connects local, regional, and global level leaders in healthy ageing research and closely collaborates with the WHO to promote and facilitate the implementation of the key issues outlined in the GSAP (https://www.who.int/ageing/global-strategy/en/):

  1. Commitment to action on Healthy Ageing in every country;
  2. Developing age-friendly environments;

  3. Aligning health systems to the needs of older populations;

  4. Developing sustainable and equitable systems for providing long-term care (home, communities, institutions); and

  5. Improving measurement, monitoring and research on Healthy Ageing.

One key focus of the network will be to advance Healthy Ageing metrics and monitoring to measure Healthy Ageing (i.e., intrinsic capacity, functional ability, and environments), as well as care dependency, including the reanalysis of existing data, and through a quantitative multi-country study with new data collection, calibration, as well as innovation studies.

A more detailed overview of the WHO-CC+’ strategic plan will be available here soon.

Strategischer Plan

Was sind die Hauptziele des neuen globalen Netzwerks?

Während einer hochrangigen strategischen Tagung, die im Oktober 2017 von und bei der WHO zum Thema "Aufbau einer globalen Forschungsagenda für gesundes Altern" einberufen wurde, beschlossen die Teilnehmenden, die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit zwischen Forschungseinrichtungen und den Regionalbüros der WHO sowie dem WHO-Hauptbüro zu fördern, um ein Netzwerk zu schaffen, das neue Initiativen, die Wissenslücken schließen, effizient kanalisieren und integrieren würde, die WHO-Prioritäten im Bereich Altern und Gesundheit voranzubringen, Innovationen in Forschung und Anwendung zu fördern und die Kapazitäten in den Ländern zu stärken, um den Globalen Strategie- und Aktionsplan (GSAP) für Altern und Gesundheit weiterzuverfolgen und eine Plattform und Partnerschaft für ein Jahrzehnt des gesunden Alterns, 2020-2030, zu schaffen.

Dieses globale Netzwerk umfasst und verbindet somit lokale, regionale und globale Führungspersönlichkeiten in der Forschung für gesundes Altern und arbeitet eng mit der WHO zusammen, um die Umsetzung der im GSAP skizzierten Schlüsselfragen zu fördern und zu erleichtern (https://www.who.int/ageing/global-strategy/en/):

  1.     Verpflichtung zu Maßnahmen für gesundes Altern in jedem Land;
  2.     Entwicklung altersfreundlicher Umgebungen;
  3.     Anpassung der Gesundheitssysteme an die Bedürfnisse älterer Menschen;
  4.     Entwicklung nachhaltiger und gerechter Systeme zur Bereitstellung von
        Langzeitpflege (zu Hause, in Gemeinden, Institutionen); und
  5.     Verbesserung der Messung, Überwachung und Forschung zum Thema
        gesundes Altern.

Ein Hauptschwerpunkt des Netzwerks wird die Förderung von Erhebungsverfahren zur Messung des gesunden Alterns (d.h. der intrinsischen Kapazität, der funktionellen Fähigkeit und der Umgebung) sowie der Pflegebedürftigkeit sein, einschließlich der Reanalyse vorhandener Daten und durch eine quantitative Mehrländerstudie mit neuer Datensammlung, Kalibrierung sowie Innovationsstudien.

Ein detaillierterer Überblick über den Strategieplan dieses WHO-CC+ wird demnächst hier verfügbar sein.