Brain Anatomy in Old Age

***

Longitudinal Healthy Aging Brain (LHAB) database project

The LHAB Database Project is a prospective longitudinal study, which has the primary goal of describing the development of brain structure / brain function and behavior in a sample of healthy elderly individuals (65+). The project specifically focuses on domain-overlapping links between brain and psychometric measures to evaluate for example if changes in one domain are associated with concurrent or lagged changes in the other domain. Beyond this, additional individual information (e.g. biographical information, activities, well-being) is collected to explain interindividual variability in the observed developmental trajectories. Another important aspect is the establishment of a data management portal that fosters current and future research as well as re- and meta-analyses of these valuable longitudinal multi-domain data.

Project status: ongoing (begin of data acquisition in 2011), several sub-projects
Contact: Dr. Susan Mérillat

 

***

Crossvalidation project: Cortical thickness and cognitive ability in healthy aging (LHAB – 1000BRAINS collaboration)

Normal aging is accompanied by an inter-individually variable decline in cognitive abilities and brain structure. This variability, in combination with methodical differences and differences in sample characteristics across studies, poses a major challenge for generalizability of results from different studies. To explore whether results can be generalized across samples when using identical data preprocessing and analysis procedures, this joint research project aims to cross-validate age-related differences and aging-related changes in cognitive abilities and brain structure (measured using cortical thickness (CT)) in two large independent samples (65+): the LHAB database project (URPP) and the 1000BRAINS (Research Center Juelich, Germany).

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Dr. Susan Mérillat

 

***

Aging-related changes in functional brain networks (LHAB – SLS collaboration)

In this joint project the aim is to investigate individual trajectories of aging-related change with regard to connectivity strength in the Default Mode Network (DMN). Beyond the domain-specific analyses, changes in DMN connectivity will be related to demographic factors and to cognitive ability. By including resting-state fMRI data of two large longitudinal aging samples – the LHAB database project (URPP) and the SLS (Seattle Longitudinal Study) – the present work provides the largest investigation of longitudinal DMN connectivity trajectories in aging so far and combines aspects of knowledge gain and cross-validation.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Dr. Franz Liem

Hirnanatomie im Alter

***

Längsschnittliches Datenbankprojekt zum gesunden Altern des Gehirns (LHAB)

Das LHAB-Datenbankprojekt ist eine prospektive Längsschnittuntersuchung, die primär das Ziel verfolgt, die Entwicklung der Gehirnstruktur/-funktion und des Verhaltens bei einer Stichprobe gesunder älterer Personen (65+) zu beschreiben. Das Projekt fokussiert dabei besonders auf domänenübergreifende Verbindungen zwischen Gehirn- und psychometrischen Massen, um zum Beispiel abzuschätzen, ob Veränderungen in einer Domäne mit gleichzeitigen oder verzögerten Veränderungen in einer anderen Domäne assoziiert sind. Darüber hinaus werden zusätzliche individuelle Informationen (z.B. biographische Informationen, Aktivitäten, Wohlbefinden) gesammelt, um interindividuelle Unterschiede in den beobachteten Entwicklungsverläufen zu erklären. Ein weiterer bedeutsamer Aspekt beinhaltet die Schaffung eines Datenmanagement-Portals, das aktuelle und zukünftige Forschung sowie Re- und Metaanalysen dieser wertvollen bereichsübergreifenden Längsschnittdaten fördert.

Projektstatus: läuft (Beginn der Datenerhebung 2011)
Kontakt: Dr. Susan Mérillat

 

***

Kreuzvalidierungs-Projekt: Kortikale Dicke und kognitive Fähigkeiten im gesunden Altern (LHAB – 1000BRAINS Kollaboration)

Normales Altern wird von einer interindividuell variablen Abnahme der kognitiven Fähigkeiten und der Gehirnstruktur begleitet. Diese Variabilität, kombiniert mit methodischen Unterschieden und Unterschieden in Charakteristiken der Stichproben über verschiedene Studien hinweg, stellt eine grosse Herausforderung für die Generalisierbarkeit der Ergebnisse unterschiedlicher Studien dar. Um zu untersuchen, ob die Ergebnisse bei Verwendung identischer Vorverarbeitungs- und Analyseverfahren über die Stichproben hinweg generalisierbar sind, zielt dieses gemeinsame Forschungsprojekt auf die Kreuzvalidierung altersbezogener Unterschiede und altersbezogener Veränderungen in kognitiven Fähigkeiten und in der Gehirnstruktur (gemessen anhand der kortikalen Dicke) zweier grossen unabhängigen Stichproben (65+) ab: das LHAB-Datenbankprojekt (UFSP) sowie die 1000BRAINS-Studie (Forschungszenter Jülich, Deutschland).

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Dr. Susan Mérillat


***

Altersbezogene Veränderungen in funktionalen Gehirnnetzwerken (LHAB – SLS Kollaboration)

Dieses kollaborative Forschungsprojekt untersucht individuelle Entwicklungsverläufe altersbezogener Veränderungen bezüglich der Stärke der Konnektivität im «Default Mode Netzwerk» (DMN) bzw. Ruhezustandsnetzwerk. Über domänenspezifische Analysen hinaus werden Veränderungen in der DMN-Konnektivität mit demographischen Faktoren und kognitiven Fähigkeiten in Verbindung gebracht. Durch den Einbezug von fMRI-Ruhezustandsdaten zweier grosser Längsschnittstichproben im höheren Alter – das LHAB Datenbank-Projekt (UFSP) und die SLS (Seattle Längsschnittstudie) – stellt die aktuelle Kollaboration die bis dato grösste Untersuchung längsschnittlicher DMN-Konnektivitätsverläufe im Alter dar und kombiniert Aspekte des Wissenserwerbs mit Aspekten der Kreuzvalidierung.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Dr. Franz Liem