Life-Management

***

Altruism across adulthood

Stereotypically, aging is associated with an increase in prosociality. To date, psychological research on this topic has generally supported this association, though previous studies have primarily employed designs that use monetary donations as outcomes. As older adults are likely to have greater monetary resources compared to younger adults, use of monetary donations in experiments introduces a confound as the relative cost of donating is comparatively reduced in older adults. This project aims to broaden the scope of this research area by investigating age differences in prosocial behavior in non-monetary domains.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Dr. Ryan Best and Prof. Dr. Alexandra Freund

 

***

Aging and motivation towards loss: Avoidance or minimization?

This project investigates age differences in the appraisal of parameters in decisions involving potential gains and losses, namely the probability and magnitude of the outcomes. Through the lens of the goal orientation approach, this line of research investigates the motivational shift in focus across adulthood from gains towards losses, and how this shift manifests itself through choices between options that minimize losses with greater certainty or attempt to avoid losses at a greater risk.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Dr. Ryan Best and Prof. Dr. Alexandra Freund

 

***

Psychological indicators of exhaustion and recovery across adulthood

This project examines the role of mood, opportunity costs, and subjective time perception for feelings of exhaustion and recovery, and how these relationships may change across adulthood. The project employs a multi-method approach, combining lab-based micro-longitudinal experiments and field-based experience sampling studies to examine the relationships of interest at different levels of functioning. The project is mainly concerned with analyzing interindividual variability in intraindividual change over time.

Project status: ongoing
Contact: Brian Cardini and Prof. Dr. Alexandra Freund

Life-Management

***

Altruismus im Laufe des Erwachsenenalters

Das Altern wird stereotypisch mit einem Anstieg an Prosozialität in Verbindung gebracht. Bis heute hat die psychologische Forschung auf diesem Gebiet diese Assoziation bestätigt, wobei frühere Studien primär Designs verwendet haben, die monetäre Spenden als abhängige Variablen verwendeten. Da ältere Erwachsene eher über grössere monetäre Ressourcen im Vergleich zu jüngeren Erwachsenen verfügen und somit die relativen Kosten des Spendens im Alter vergleichsweise reduziert sind, bringt der Einsatz von monetären Spenden in Experimenten eine Störvariable ein. Dieses Projekt hat die Erweiterung des Geltungsbereichs dieses Forschungsbereichs zum Ziel, indem Altersunterschiede in prosozialen Verhaltensweisen in non-monetären Domänen untersucht werden.

Project status: läuft
Kontakt: Dr. Ryan Best und Prof. Dr. Alexandra Freund

 

***

Altern und Verlustmotivation: Vermeidung oder Minimalisierung?

Dieses Projekt untersucht Altersunterschiede in der Beurteilung von Parametern bei Entscheidungen betreffend potentieller Gewinne und Verluste. Genauer werden dabei die Beurteilung der Wahrscheinlichkeit und des Ausmasses der Folgen fokussiert. Im Sinne des Zielorientierungsansatzes untersucht dieser Forschungsbereich die motivationale Verlagerung des Fokus von Gewinnen hin zu Verlusten im Laufe des Erwachsenenalters und wie diese Verlagerung sich in Entscheidungen zwischen Optionen manifestiert, die mit einer grösseren Sicherheit Verluste minimieren oder die versuchen, Verluste mit grösserem Risiko zu vermeiden.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Dr. Ryan Best und Prof. Dr. Alexandra Freund

 

***
Psychologische Indikatoren von Erschöpfung und Erholung im Laufe des Erwachsenenalters

Dieses Projekt untersucht die Rolle der Stimmung, der Opportunitätskosten und der subjektiven Zeitwahrnehmung bei Erschöpfungs- und Erholungsgefühlen und inwiefern sich diese Zusammenhänge über das Erwachsenenalter hinweg verändern können. Das Projekt wendet einen multi-methodischen Ansatz an, bei dem mikro-längsschnittliche Experimente im Labor und „experience sampling“-Feldstudien kombiniert werden, um die interessierenden Zusammenhänge auf unterschiedlichen Funktionsebenen zu untersuchen. Das Projekt beschäftigt sich dabei primär mit der Analyse interindividueller Variabilität in intraindividuellen Veränderungen über die Zeit.

Projektstatus: läuft
Kontakt: Brian Cardini und Prof. Dr. Alexandra Freund